Ignatian Silent Prayer Retreat – Online – March 2023

Coming Home:
Turning Toward and Lingering in Love’s Embrace

A Lenten Weekend Silent Retreat

“Surrendering to love leads to an unexpected place, where yieldedness to God frees us to become who God created us to be.”
David Benner

Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn – Return of the Prodigal Son, Public Domain

Join spiritual directors Jan Evans and Esther Hizsa for a silent, guided prayer retreat opening to the desire to encounter God personally and live and grow in freedom using Ignatian prayer practices such as Lectio Divina, Gospel Contemplation (Praying with your imagination) and Prayer of Examen.

March 23-25, 2022  Online

TIME: Friday, 6pm PT (9 pm ET) to Sunday, noon PT (3 pm ET)

COST: $100. Register early. Spaces are limited.

FORMAT:

  • Silence is observed after the first session Friday until the closing sharing on Sunday.
  • Five group input sessions  Note: The last session on Saturday is at 4:30 pm PT (7:30 pm ET)
  • Six 45-60 minute periods for assigned personal prayer spaced throughout the retreat
  • Three 15 minute one-on-one spiritual direction sessions with Jan, Esther or another spiritual director.

Participants are encouraged to retreat in a physical space conducive to maintaining silence while they “vacation with the Lord.”

More details will be sent following registration.

FACILITATORS

Jan Evans

Jan Evans* has accompanied many persons through the Ignatian Spiritual Exercises in Daily Life (Annotation 19) over the past 12 years. She received her Ignatian training through workshops offered by Loyola House – Ignatian Spirituality Centre in Guelph and a supervised practicum with a Loyola House spiritual director. She currently offers spiritual direction from her home in London, Ontario and teaches in the Ontario Jubilee Spiritual Direction Training Program.

Esther Hizsa

Esther Hizsa* has completed and accompanied people praying the Ignatian Spiritual Exercises Retreat in Daily Life (Annotation 19) with JSAV (Jesuit Apostolate Spirituality of Vancouver). She has an M Div from Regent College, co-facilitates Living from the Heart and is on the Leadership Team of SoulStream. She posts weekly on her blog An Everyday Pilgrim and is the author of Stories of an Everyday Pilgrim and Seed Cracked Open. Esther attends St. Stephen the Martyr Church in Burnaby.

*Denotes Independent Contractor

Jan and Esther are both partners of SoulStream, a dispersed, contemplative Christian community.